Web Graphics Using Fireworks | Fireworks Basics


Course Developers: Marni Sandler, Anne-Marie Yerks
Instructor: Claire Boger
Layout: Patricio Sarzosa
Editors: Tara MacKay, Gordon Drummond, Rachel Sokol


Marni Sandler

Hi there. As the Director of a small Web design agency, I've been creating Web graphics for years. I never cease to be amazed by the flexibility of graphics software—and its ability to support the thousands of little tradeoffs a Web designer has to make to create impactful yet "low-bandwidth" graphics. Adobe Fireworks is a great tool for creating Web graphics, and I'm glad to have you in this course as we explore the finer points of the program.

Fireworks Basics

All in a Day's Work. Web graphic design involves some challenging and varied assignments. In this lesson, you'll learn the main types of Web graphics and how to use Fireworks' fundamental tools.
It's often said that a picture is worth a thousand words. A picture can communicate powerful ideas and emotions that simple text can't always explain.

Nowhere is this more true than on the burgeoning expanse of the Web. In a visual medium, the graphics on your site can make or break its success.

Just by looking at an image, viewers can grasp ideas instantly. Graphics enhance a Web site's experience, support its content, and create a visual hierarchy. Logical and intuitive designs help us to figure out (often subconsciously) how content is organized and what information is important.

This course covers the essentials of making superior Web graphics using Adobe Fireworks. We'll cover the technical fundamentals you need to know, and discuss tips and techniques for the wide range of applications encountered in a typical Web design project. You'll learn how to create, manipulate, and export Web graphics, optimizing and animating them, all using Fireworks. You'll create image slices and hotspots and combine graphics with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. You can even build an entire working site prototype, complete with code, using Fireworks... and just to prove it, we'll show you how.

In this lesson, you can expect to:

Get an overview of the process of Web graphic design.
Learn about the importance of optimization and the main types of Web graphics.
Learn the role of Fireworks in graphics creation and the main file formats for the Web.
Learn to create and manipulate a Fireworks canvas.
Learn the difference between vector and bitmap images.
Learn to use the basic drawing, text, and export features of Fireworks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Track the progress in loading a page, one graphic at a time, in your browser's status bar (View > Status Bar).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First and foremost, consider the audience in all of your graphic decisions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

GIF files are typically used for Web graphics that are comprised of line art, text, or solid blocks of color. JPEGs are used for color-rich images like photographs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Try to have a target file size in mind while creating any graphic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Use photos whenever realism is essential. Most photos can be reduced to reasonable sizes in JPEG format.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Think about using a consistent global navigation system for every page of a site.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Use text-as-graphic sparingly. HTML/CSS text loads more quickly than graphics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Use Fireworks for individual graphics or to design functional site prototypes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saving a PNG in File > Save As gives you a native, editable Fireworks file. It will have all of your image objects, layers, and other effects at the ready, unlike with a GIF or JPEG.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can always change your canvas size or image size later under the Modify menu.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Always look at the title bar of your document window to see what percentage view you are looking at.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Use a resolution of 72 ppi unless you are asked otherwise.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scaling up image size sometimes results in a quality loss.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Get into the habit of clicking the Pointer as soon as you are finished using one of the other tools (or simply press the V key).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hold Shift to constrain lines and shapes to "perfect" angles or proportions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hold Shift when using the Pointer to select multiple objects at once.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Web Graphics Overview

 

 

Let's begin by addressing the fundamentals: What is a Web graphic?

At one level, a Web graphic is a digital file, a collection of 1s and 0s that tells a browser to display an image with a specific shape, size, and color. At another level, it's a form of communication (attention-grabbing, organizational, or artistic) between you (the designer/producer) and the viewer. The environment created by graphics is intrinsic to the experience of using the Web. Just think of your favorite Web site devoid of any graphic content!

But communicating on the Web has its own constantly changing rules. Improperly produced or poorly designed graphics can make a Web site frustrating and unpleasant, distracting users from the goals and mission of the site. Web graphic designers have a tough job—we need to create images that are appropriate for these limitations and standards, in addition to performing their job of visual communication.

If we're lucky, sometimes we get the opportunity to push the limitations. My philosophy, in a nutshell, is to make each graphic as efficient and beautiful as possible. This is usually a give-and-take scenario involving a tradeoff between file size and visual impact (the most efficient being the least beautiful and vice versa). Achieving the best of both worlds is often a compromise, but compromise doesn't mean necessarily mean sacrifice!

In the long run, learning to walk this fine line is the best way to serve the interests of clients and Web users.

A second global consideration (as you can see below) is the type of site you're working on. Not every site will demand cutting-edge image treatments, however much you love doing them. The unique demands of each project should drive the type of graphics you create.

Pretty Picture. A site built for clients of a professional designer must pack a visual punch.

No Frills. A site built to serve university students must project an organized, informational, and clean image. The focus is on content; graphics play a supportive role and help set the mood.

Are you developing an e-commerce site? An editorial/news site? A photographer's portfolio? In each case, your approach should be different. The content on the Web is certainly not homogenous, and users expect different experiences from one site to the next. That means there isn't one formula to creating the perfect graphic. But understanding your audience and their needs will help you come up with a recipe that's appropriate each time.

In the following six lessons, we'll discuss the technical, production, aesthetic, and design standards that make Web graphics great and give your site's visitors the best possible viewing experience. From the basics to some of the more esoteric issues, we'll tackle such concepts as color systems, file formats, and optimization, and come to understand terms and techniques such as vector, raster, dithering, and anti-aliasing. We'll also look at good sources for materials and examine issues of ownership. Not to mention, you'll create many graphics using Fireworks in the following lessons.

Graphic Optimization

File size is a major consideration in most Web graphics projects. Even if you're just creating a site prototype ("comp") for other team members to work with, you'll likely be expected to save the individual graphics needed for the site at acceptable file sizes.

File size is measured in kilobytes, megabytes, or gigabytes (referred to as K, MB, and GB respectively). Every time you save an image for the Web in Fireworks, the file size is displayed, so you can tweak the image to reduce or increase its ultimate size. This process of manipulating an image to obtain the optimal file size is called optimization, while the process of reducing a file's size is called compression. We'll look at this process in detail in Lesson Three.

This image was optimized to a size of 8K using the Optimize panel in Fireworks and the File > Export command.

File size is influenced by many factors. The image's pixel dimensions (its length and width in pixels), resolution (the number of pixels per inch used to create the image on-screen), and even the complexity of the artwork are all directly related to file size. Another factor is the file format that you choose: generally JPEG or GIF.

The file size represents how much disk space (or digital "weight") is taken up by the image. When combined with the user's connection speed, you get a sense for how long the user will have to wait for the image to appear on a Web page. (The more weight, the longer the wait.)

As you can imagine, slow image loading is bad. Making the user wait, and conveying a visual impression that the site is "broken," affects the user's perception of the integrity of the site. Web graphics designers counter this problem by compressing file size as much as possible, while keeping in mind the purpose of each graphic.

Here's an example of this mindset. Suppose I am creating an informational site about Albert Einstein, with a graphic of the great man on the home page. My graphics folder for the site might look like this (below right):

It's important for my site that users see the einstein.jpg photo before they move to a new page, so I kept it under 10K for super-fast loading. The logo JPEG also should appear immediately, so it's under 5K. The 40K file is an enlarged version of a photo that only very interested users will choose to see.

It's worth the minimal wait time to me and to them. In general, larger file sizes should be reserved for special images that the user chooses to view, like zoomed-in product shots on an e-commerce site or a screenshot in your portfolio.

For the impatient, goal-oriented Internet user, load time can make or break your Web site. So, how does this affect your graphics files and the choices you make when creating and saving them?

The answer is to make an artform out of optimization. The more detailed and colorful the image, the larger the file size. The smaller the file size, the more degraded the image can appear. You'll want to reach a happy medium with file size and image quality—your goal is to obtain the highest quality image with the lowest file size possible. We'll go into great detail about optimization later in the course.

Case Study: Casual Corner

OK, enough with the techie jargon. Let's see some optimized graphics in action. This section is an overview of various kinds of Web graphics you may come across—and be asked to create. We'll look at them via a case study of a site I produced a few years ago: CasualCorner.com, an online retail clothing store. The company is now defunct, but the graphic concepts remain timely!

CasualCorner.com home page. Click to enlarge.

Since images exist within the larger context of the Web site, it's important to make sure their place within the page layout and site architecture makes sense. Think about what purpose each image serves. What's the concept? What kind of information or direction are you trying to convey? Remember that the function of a Web graphic is not decoration but visual communication. Excessive "bells and whistles" can distract and annoy users—every image must serve a purpose.

You're going to learn techniques for each of the following classic image categories as you work through the course.

Photographs

This small photograph is used as a teaser to attract attention to a promotion on wrinkle-free shirts.
Photographic images are used across the Web to present realistic snapshots of objects, landscapes, and people, taken digitally or traditionally. Photographs can be used as-is, but are very often collaged, manipulated, abstracted, or enhanced in Fireworks using special effects. Still images, even a frame captured from video, are in this category.

On the CasualCorner.com site, photographs are used to showcase the clothing and display how it looks in a realistic setting. This is a mode of representation inherited from magazines and advertising. It's about creating an experience around a product by representing it in a glamorous or attractive context.

The quality and content of such photographs can determine the success of this site—they're the most important marketing tool this site has. Never underestimate the power of the human face to communicate a personality, adding life to the transactional e-commerce environment.

A photograph with text overlaid. The function of this image is to communicate the target demographic to the site's visitors: at a glance, visitors recognize the site is an outlet for smart-but-casual women's clothing.

Illustrations

Icons such as this shopping tote are often illustrations. These smaller images read more clearly as illustrations than as photographic images.
Illustrations are frequently used on Web sites to represent figures, icons, and hierarchical elements. Non-photographic art in this category can begin life as simple or complex creations produced on paper, digitally, or with various other media. Line art (images containing no shading or color gradations) is also a common name for this approach.

One advantage of working with illustrations is that they oftentimes use fewer colors than photographs, thus keeping file size low without losing much quality, as you'll learn later. Illustrations can also look cleaner at small image sizes.

The CasualCorner.com site isn't overflowing with non-photographic art, but one example can be seen with the shopping tote. The image of the shopping tote is there to give a personal touch and take away some of the intimidation of shopping online. It can bring familiarity to what could otherwise be an impersonal experience. In addition, it makes the important "shopping cart" feature easy to find.

Navigation

Navigation is really a structural/architectural element, often created using graphics. The overarching principle for navigation elements is that they must be clear, consistent, and very prominent on a Web site to guide users.

Navigation is traditionally (but certainly not always) seen on the top or left-hand side of a site; this way it's not likely to be hidden in smaller browser windows. Navigation can be:

 
 

Global: Exists throughout the site.

Local: Exists only in certain areas. Also known as "sub-navigation."

 
 

On the CasualCorner.com home page, there's a lot going on, navigation-wise. The architecture of this site was carefully planned out to simply organize all of the information and create a visual hierarchy. For global navigation, a row of simple white-on-black graphic buttons (very readable) appears on both the home page and product page:

Global Navigation. A subdued white on black for readability.

As you get deeper into categories, the local or sub-navigation in the left margin guides you smoothly, helping you find your way and discover specific categories:

Local Navigation. No buttons here, but each chunk of text is a separate image, some overlaid with "new" or "collectibles update" labels to pique user interest.

Thumbnails

Anyone who's been to Amazon or Flickr knows what thumbnails are. Thumbnail images are a representation or sample of other, larger images. The small images can act as an index. Many times they can be photographic, but other types of imagery can certainly be used. Thumbnails can be used to show many items on a page at once, by category or search results. Thumbnails are also helpful in reducing file size (rather than using many large images).

On the CasualCorner.com product page for Sweaters and Knits, 12 thumbnail results are displayed. When clicked, they each lead to a specific product page showing a larger version of the image. Going through the entry page, you can see many sweaters at once, rather than having to click through 12 different product pages.

CasualCorner.com product page demonstrating thumbnails.

Notice the difference image size makes to the Web user's impression of the product. You'd certainly never buy the sweater based on a thumbnail alone. But thumbnails give the user a quick preview of a series of items before they choose to load a larger version.

Larger sweater image, deeper in the site.

Text-as-Graphic

The production decisions you make about how to build your Web site will affect the look of the text.

If you choose to create all of your site's text in HTML and CSS rather than making it with graphics, you'll have a very efficient site with fewer stylistic choices. On the other hand, treating text as a graphic allows you added flexibility with typography, fonts, and design. Even though text conveys written content, there's no reason why it can't be visually engaging! Logos are the most common type of "text-as-graphic" treatment, as it's vital that a company's logo is represented in a specific font, size, and color.

Text-as-graphic treatments occurred many times on the CasualCorner.com site, but the most critical application was the logo. To carry through signage on the brick-and-mortar stores and print materials, the preexisting logo and branding style had to be precisely represented on the Web site.

Text-as-graphic Casual Corner Logo.

Design Elements

Design elements are Web graphics that may not have an informational purpose, but can carry through the "look and feel" of the site in interesting ways. They are used to enhance the general appearance of a Web site and can also support the organization. The treatment of the simplest thing—bullet points, rules, arrows, and other elements—can play a role in directing the eye.

To draw attention to one example at the CasualCorner.com site, seasonal colors were used above the navigation bar to enhance and emphasize the color palette of the clothing. This area changes seasonally along with the clothes.

Design elements are small touches that add to a site's look and feel.

Banners

Here's a graphic category that's close to marketers' hearts. A banner (sometimes called a tile) invokes a "call-to-action" in the viewer—to buy a product, to visit a different Web site, to check out a special promotion, and so on. Many times these graphics are animated, interactive, or just bold and attention-grabbing.

On the CasualCorner.com home page, this banner was added to communicate timely or important information, such as a promotion or special offer.

Red and Black. The red communicates the call to action; the black, the details.

OK, we've gone through some fundamentals and seen how different types of images work in a real-world example. It's time to look at the specific role Fireworks plays in Web graphics design.

Fireworks Overview

Thanks to the desktop revolution and the ensuing technology boom, we now have a plethora of graphics tools, both software and hardware, that allow us to manipulate visual elements on the Web.

Adobe Fireworks is (in my opinion, shared by many throughout the design industry) one of the greatest—it's a versatile tool that has definitely influenced the way many designers create Web graphics. It's not meant to replace a favorite application like Photoshop, but rather to handle specialized imaging tasks for the Web.

Understanding the options, requirements, and capabilities of Fireworks is the first step toward creating your own style.

Fireworks' Role in Web Design

Fireworks has two different roles in Web design. The first and most common role is the creation of individual graphics: a single banner ad, a photo to be placed in a Web page, and so on. The second is the creation of an entire Web page or Web site. Entire pages and sites can be designed in a single Fireworks file, then exported and uploaded to the Web.

Related to designing entire functional sites, Fireworks can be used by designers to create site prototypes or "comps." Prototypes illustrate to Web design teams how a finished site should look, and even include functional elements like clickable link and JavaScript behaviors. Working from a comp, team members create individual graphics, additional page code, and other site features in any programs that are preferred.

The designers at Benefitfocus.com use Fireworks to create graphics and interface prototypes. The prototypes are further coded with other technologies to create the complete Web site.

So, if Fireworks alone can be used to make a Web site, then how is it different from Dreamweaver and other Web site authoring programs? First off, all Fireworks documents are created on a canvas instead of in an HTML document. The size, color, and resolution of the canvas can be controlled. Second, all objects on the canvas can be dragged and dropped into various positions. These objects are fixed only when a version of the file is exported for the Web. Third, the objects you create (whether they are text, shapes, photos, or lines) can be modified at any time inside the Fireworks document.

These three differences have caused Fireworks to be pegged as a digital imaging program, like Photoshop. But to lump Fireworks into that category of software exclusively would be wrong. What some designers don't realize, or remember, is that Fireworks can produce HTML and other Web files in addition to being a graphics program.

Unlike some other apps, Fireworks writes its HTML code behind the scenes, exporting it along with the image files. When you begin building a Web site outside Fireworks, you will have both the image files and the code available to you, each in a separate file. If you are one of those code-tweaker types, you will be able to open the code inside Dreamweaver (or another program) and edit away. But If you don't want to edit the code (or even look at it), you don't have to.

How does it work? Take a look at the image below. It shows a map of the coffee shops in the downtown area of my hometown—a graphic type you're likely to find on a tourism Web site. Beside the map is a screenshot of the HTML code that will instruct a Web browser to display the map inside the browser window. Both the map and the HTML were created with Fireworks.

While you can deal with the HTML directly, you certainly don't have to. Fireworks is glad to do the work for you.

The process used to export the map graphic and the HTML will be outlined for you later.

Creating a New Fireworks Graphic
Common File Formats

Fireworks took the lead in pioneering the PNG file format (pronounced "ping"). Any file you create inside Fireworks is saved as a PNG by default. Just as Photoshop saves its files in a native PSD format, Fireworks creates PNGs.

PNG stands for Portable Network Graphics, and a PNG graphic can be viewed inside most recent versions of Web browsers. PNGs can be more lustrous and beautiful than your everyday GIF or JPEG without bulky file sizes, but don't swoon over them just yet.

A common mistake made by new Fireworks users is to publish native PNG files directly to the Web. The Fireworks native PNG contains more information than your Web users need in a graphic, like the Fireworks layers and editable effects. Optimized PNG files, which do not contain this extra information, can be used effectively on the Web once properly exported from Fireworks.

By the way, if you need a quick refresher on GIFs and JPEGs, here's a quick way to remember their roles:

 
 

GIF (pronounced "giff," not "jiff"): Use this file type for graphics that are comprised of line art, text, solid blocks of color (such as the coffee shop map shown above).

JPEG (pronounced "jay-peg"): Use the JPEG file type for photographs and other color-rich images (such as the CasualCorner.com sweaters).

 
 

Unlike Fireworks native PNGs, GIFs, and JPEGs contain only the image data you can see in your browser window. Typically you will save a native PNG on your hard drive for your original artwork, then export to GIF or JPEG (or optimized PNG) for Web viewing.

You are not limited to GIF, JPEG, and PNG formats when working with Fireworks. You can also save or export Fireworks files in a variety of other formats, such as SWF (Shockwave Flash), TIFF (used most often by print designers), and even CSS (Cascading Style Sheets). Fireworks CS4 users can also export to PDF which is a great way to present a series of Web page prototypes in a single presentation.

The File > Export window is full of options. The ones you'll use most are "Images Only" and "HTML and Images."

Don't worry if you don't know what each of those export options mean. It will take you a while to learn them all and we'll cover the most important ones throughout the course.


Canvas Size and Image Size

Eager to get started? Let's delve into the Fireworks program itself, shall we? Open up Fireworks and follow along with me.

The first thing you must do is create a canvas. The canvas will serve as your work area and is the space onto which you'll place all your objects. Most of the time, you will be creating objects inside Fireworks. But sometimes, you might want to import objects from outside the currently open document.

Choose File > New to access the New Document dialog. This dialog has two purposes: It allows you to set the canvas size and the canvas color. You can always change these settings later, so don't get too concerned about determining either of these things. Let's first talk about setting canvas size.

Start a new document (File > New) using these settings.

Every time you begin a new file in Fireworks, you will need to set the width and height of your canvas. The unit of measurement is pixels, by default. However, you can use the dropdown menus next to the Width and Height field to choose a measurement unit of inches or millimeters instead. I will use pixels as the measurement unit for all the examples and exercises, as this is the standard unit of measurement for Web graphics.

Set your new document to 400 pixels wide by 300 high. Additionally, select White as the canvas color. This produces a white canvas that fits nicely onto the viewing area of my screen. After clicking OK, my blank canvas is situated into the Fireworks environment.
The white canvas is in the main document window, tools are on the left, most panels are on the right, and the Properties panel is on the bottom. You may see different panels on your screen. All panels are accessible in the Window menu.

If you have any experience at all with computer graphics software, the type of setup shown above will be familiar to you. The canvas you just created is in the center of the screen, with a toolbar to the left, and an opened Layers panel and Info panel to the right, and an opened Properties panel across the bottom. If you don't see these panels, go to Window > Info, Window > Layers, and Window > Properties to show them.

Let me now bring your attention to the number one problem that hangs people up at this point in the work process: the document view.

To understand how the document view works, look first at the canvas. Note how it is contained within a window. This window has some information for you at both the top and bottom, but the most important thing to look for is what percentage size you are currently viewing. In the untitled document shown in above, the view is set to 100%, and 100% is indicated in the title tab (in Fireworks CS4) or title bar (in CS3). That means you are viewing the canvas at actual size. CS4 users, you can click and drag the title tab so the window "floats" in the interface, changing the tab to a bar.

The image below shows a canvas that was created at 800 x 600 instead of 400 x 300. So, why does it look almost identical to the image above when it is actually double the size?

Look to the magnification percentage in the title tab or title bar of the document window. Change it in the View menu.

The title in the 800 x 600 document reads "50%," so we're viewing it at half of its actual size. If you create a document that is very large, Fireworks displays it at a smaller size so that you can see what you're doing, and have toolbars and panels open as you work.

You can zoom in and out of your canvas at any time by going to the View menu or by using these key commands:

Mac

Windows

Zoom In

Command +

Ctrl +

Zoom Out

Command -

Ctrl -

To check the resolution of a file, open it inside Fireworks and go to Modify > Canvas > Image Size. Inside the Image Size dialog, the current resolution will be specified in pixels per inch. You can change the resolution here as well as the image size.

Keep your resolution and units of measurement (pixels and pixels/inch) at these defaults for most Web graphics.

Note that changing the image size is not the same as changing the canvas size. To understand why, open the A2map.png file from the course downloads area.

After opening the A2map.png file, spend a moment or two hovering your mouse over the canvas with your Pointer tool (the black arrow in the upper left of the Tools panel) . Note that every object inside the canvas highlights as you move over it.

Open your Layers panel if it is not already open (Window > Layers) and take a look at the layers contained inside this document. There are four layers, called Web Layer, text, street lines, and coffee beans. We will be working with layers throughout the course, and we'll talk about them more later. For now, click on the different layers in the Layers panel to get a sense of how they work to organize the objects in your Web graphics. Clicking each layer, you will see highlighted the objects that sit on that layer. If you mess something up, choose File > Revert to return the file to the stage where it was when last saved.

Here the "coffee beans" layer is selected, highlighting all of the objects that live on that layer. If you click the arrow next to the layer, you'll see each individual item.

Now, go to Modify > Canvas > Image Size. Change the Width field (horizontal arrows) from 400 to 300. Notice that the Height field (vertical arrows) will adjust automatically to 225. (If this doesn't happen, check the "Constrain proportions" box located in the bottom of the dialog.) Once you have specified the new image size as 300 x 225, click OK and watch Fireworks reduce the entire canvas and all the objects on it to the new, smaller size.

What happened here is that the overall size of the image was reduced. However, the resolution is still 72 dpi, as it was originally. Reducing or enlarging the image size is something you will do frequently as you adjust your graphics to fit into various areas of the Web browser.

Now, choose Edit > Undo Image Size (or press Ctrl/Command-Z to undo) to restore the image to a size of 400 x 300 before moving on. Be sure to use Undo rather than go back to the Image Size dialog and change the sizes—scaling an image up can sometimes result in quality loss.

I mentioned earlier that reducing the image size is not the same as reducing the canvas size. Now you'll see why. With A2map.png open, go to Modify > Canvas > Canvas Size. Use the settings inside the Canvas Size dialog to change the width (horizontal arrows) to 300, and the height (vertical arrows) to 200. In the Anchor area, make sure the center square is selected. This ensures that the canvas will be cropped equally around the entire document. Click OK.

The Anchor feature specifies where your artwork will be situated on the resulting canvas.

Fireworks will modify the document to display the new canvas size. This time, the objects on the canvas will not be reduced. Instead of reducing the overall size of the image, Fireworks has only reduced the canvas area, and the resolution has not been changed. The areas of the objects that don't fit into the new canvas area are chopped off and will not appear in any exported versions of this file. However, they are not lost forever. If you go back into the dialog by choosing Modify > Canvas Size and reenter the settings to be 400 x 300 and click OK, the canvas will enlarge to show all the objects on the screen. Note that your Anchor must be at the center square for this to work.

This image shows the differences between reducing the size of the canvas (left) and image (right) in A2map.png.

Resolution

Now that you understand how to create a canvas, modify it, and view it at an appropriate size, let's delve into another issue that causes many people confusion: image resolution.

Every digital image can be measured in pixel size. The dimensions of an image are the number of pixels found along its height and width (400 x 300 for example). The dimensions combine with resolution, measured in ppi (pixels per inch), to create the size of the graphic that appears on the user's screen. The size that your image appears on-screen is therefore determined by the pixel dimensions of the image and the size and resolution settings of the user's monitor.

You may also come across the term dpi. Dpi stands for "dots per inch" and refers to the resolution of print images. A printer prints dots, not pixels, but the idea is the same: the dots or pixels per inch, combined with the image dimensions, determine the size of the graphic that prints or displays on screen.

Confusing enough for you? If all of those initials and numbers start to blur, just remember this rule of thumb: All Web graphics should be set to 72 ppi, and this is the default in Fireworks (another benefit of using Fireworks for Web graphics!). 72 ppi is standard for monitor display, although some monitors can display at 96 ppi. Setting an image's resolution lower than 72 ppi can degrade the quality, while setting it higher will waste space, causing larger file size and longer download times.

So, besides remembering to always check the percentage view in the title bar window, you must now remember to check your image resolution before you begin unleashing your creativity onto the canvas. Even though 72 ppi is Fireworks' default, you'll often work with files you didn't make yourself or files that were created in programs other than Fireworks.

Vector and Bitmap Imaging

The next big parameter to consider when manipulating files is file category. Is the source file a bitmap or vector image?

Bitmapped (also known as raster) images are made up of pixels found in a grid. The original file has information (including location and color value) about every single pixel. This can be likened to a piece of graph paper, on which each square is filled with a different shade of color to create one large image. Each individual square pixel is editable, as opposed to editing whole shapes and objects.

Hip to Be Square. Take a closer look... a raster image is made up of little squares.

This type of image file is best used to represent color gradations and continuous tone images. The file sizes are heavier than vector file sizes. This type of file would be appropriate if you're working with photographic images, for example. Note that resizing (especially enlarging) bitmap images can mean losing some of the quality of your image since the data is "resolution dependent." This means that if you increase the size of your bitmapped image, your graphics may become blurry and out of focus.

On the left, the actual-sized image, and on the right, an "upsized" image. Notice the significant blurring that occurs when upsizing a bitmap image.

Vector-based images are made up of various objects that the computer translates from mathematical equations. Objects are shapes, lines, and curves that have various attributes.

The application that opens this file type recreates the image based on that mathematical information and therefore creates a smaller file size with an image that appears cleaner when scaled up or down. This type of file is better suited for graphics with crisp lines or solid color areas. If you are creating an image that will have to be scaled up and down many times (logos are a common example) vector graphics would be more appropriate.

Smooth and Scalable. The vector file's smooth curves can be resized at will.

Fireworks can create and open both bitmap and vector-based images. This is yet another plus in Fireworks' favor, as most other imaging applications focus on a single image type.

Regardless of your source file type, the main file formats for the Web (GIF and JPEG) are bitmap. When you export your file to one of these formats, it will be converted to bitmap, if it is not already. Even so, there are many occasions, such as with logos or navigation button shapes, where you'll want to work with vector art tools in Fireworks first before saving a bitmapped file for the Web.


Drawing in Fireworks
Basic Drawing Tools

Do you still have your white, 400 x 300 canvas handy? If not, start a new Fireworks document at 400 x 300 with a white background. This canvas will give you an area to learn some tools.

By default, the Tools panel will appear on the left-hand side of your work area. If you don't see the Tools panel, then go to Window > Tools to open it. Now, take a good look at the image below, then move though the tool definitions that follow, selecting each tool and experimenting on your blank canvas.

The Pointer tool is the most basic, fundamental tool in the set. It is used to select and move objects on the canvas. Whenever I ask you to select an object, you'll be using your Pointer. Think of it as your cursor. Get into the habit of clicking the Pointer as soon as you are finished using one of the other tools (you can switch to it quickly by simply pressing the V key). You might have noticed there is another arrow on the Tools panel located to the right of the main Pointer tool. This white arrow, the Subselection tool, is used to select points on vector shapes. Don't worry about experimenting with it right now.

You won't be able to use the arrow on your current blank canvas, because it doesn't yet contain any objects. So, move on to...

The Line tool is used to draw vector-based lines. Each line you create with the Line tool can be modified in terms of color, size, quality (soft or hard), and position.

Choose the Line tool and click and drag on your canvas to draw a line. Here's a neat tip: Hold down the Shift key as you draw to produce a perfectly straight line vertically, horizontally, or at a 45-degree angle.

After drawing a line like mine, select it with the Pointer and check out the Properties panel.

To modify a line, you must select it with the Pointer (or do not deselect after drawing) and open the Properties panel (Window > Properties). The Properties panel (also known as the Properties Inspector) is where many different types of objects on the canvas can be changed. Selecting an object will show its available attributes in the Properties panel. Choose the qualities you wish to attribute to your line.

Now let's go beyond a simple line by adding a shape to the canvas. By default, Fireworks will display the Rectangle tool icon in the Tools panel below the Line tool. Click and hold the Rectangle tool to access the other vector shape tools in this set: the Rounded Rectangle, the Ellipse, the Polygon, and many more.

Starting with the Rectangle, choose each of these tools and draw one or more of each shape onto your canvas. If you hold down the Shift key as you draw, the shape will have even proportions.

To draw a shape, select the tool, click on the canvas, and drag. If you don't like a shape you've made, select it and press the Delete key.

Note that the shape you select will move to the forefront in the Tools panel.

When using the Polygon tool, you can first select the number of sides you'd like it to have in the Properties panel. Clicking and dragging will draw a polygon with the number of sides you chose.

Be sure nothing (except your Polygon tool) is selected so you can see this option in the Properties panel.

Stroke and Fill Colors

The color (fill) and outline (stroke) of each shape is determined by the currently selected color in the Fill and Stroke swatches near the bottom of the Tools panel. Click the color swatch next to the paint bucket icon to change the fill color, and the color swatch next to the pencil to change the stroke color.

Select one of the shapes you just drew on your canvas (remember, you must use the Pointer tool to select a shape). When your shape is selected, move to the Tools panel and click the color swatch located to the right of the paint bucket icon. Choose a color from the palette that appears and observe how the fill of the selected shape changes. Now, with your shape still selected, change the color of your stroke by clicking the color swatch adjacent to the pencil icon. Once you select a new stroke color, the selected shape's stroke color will change.

To move up a level in your stroke and fill technique, look to the the Properties panel. Use the options inside the panel to create more interesting strokes and fills, even textures. Have fun!

Fill and stroke colors are available in both the Tools and Properties panels. Here I've increased the thickness of my stroke to 2 pixels.

Adding Basic Text

Another essential tool in Fireworks is the Text tool. To add some text to your canvas, choose the Text tool and click inside your canvas in the approximate area where you would like the text to appear (you can move it later). Then type directly onto the canvas, making stylistic changes in the Properties panel. To make such changes, you'll need to select your text area with the Pointer tool, or highlight the text with the Text tool like you would in a word processing application.

The options you'll use most are the font, size, and color menus, but try your hand at bolding, alignment, and other features.

Use the Properties panel to format your text. Change your font, size, color, and other attributes. (We'll look at these in greater detail later in the course.) Experiment with the alias and anti-alias features. Anti-aliasing produces smoother text, but it's more difficult to read very small anti-aliased text.

Just like with shapes, you can use the Pointer tool to select the text box and move the text within the canvas. Clicking and dragging the text box handles will rearrange the breaks inside the text box.

Drag with the "handles" around the text to resize the text box.

You can always edit your text, even after you place it on the canvas. Double-click the text block with the Pointer tool, or single-click the text block or anywhere in the canvas with the Text tool.

Duplication and Transformation

Text and any other objects in a Web graphic can be duplicated as needed as well as transformed.

Duplicating an object is as simple as copying and pasting in Word processing programs. Select an object with the Pointer tool and press Ctrl-C (on a PC) or Command-C (on a Mac), or use Edit > Copy. This copies the object to your clipboard. To paste the copy onto your canvas, press Ctrl/Command-V or go to Edit > Paste.

The copy will appear directly over your original, so you'll need to drag it with the Pointer to see and position it. You can now do anything you'd like to the duplicate without affecting the original, like adding a fill color.

I duplicated my coffee bean object many times for use in the map.

Objects that you create can be transformed to adjust their size or rotation. They can even be intentionally distorted. To scale an object, use the Scale tool or go to Modify > Transform > Scale. This will place a bounding box around the selected object. You can then click and drag the handles of the box to change its size. If you hold the Shift key while using a corner handle, you'll maintain the proportions of the object while sizing it. You can skew and distort your objects using a similar process. The Skew and Distort tools are found under the Scale tool or in the Modify > Transform menu.

Rotation is also found in the Modify > Transform menu. You can use it to rotate an object by 90 or 180 degrees, or flip an object vertically or horizontally. For more custom rotating, you can choose your Scale tool and hold your mouse a little away from a corner handle so that you see a curved arrow cursor. When you see this, click and drag to rotate the object.

Basic Web Features
Creating and Linking Hotspots

After you have created a canvas with some experimental shapes and text, you can go a step further by creating Web links. When you export your graphic and HTML later, the links will be clickable.

You can use Fireworks to create links to other Web sites or other files inside your own Web site. There are many different ways to create links, but for this example we will use the Hotspot tool.

Select the Rectangle Hotspot tool from the Tools panel, and use it to draw a hotspot over any area of your canvas you wish to link. The hotspot will be represented by a shaded area. (All hotspots and slices and placed on their own layer, called the Web Layer, in your Layers panel.)

On my map of coffee joints, I've added a hotspot and linked it to the home page of the respective coffee shop.

With the hotspot selected, look towards the Properties panel—this is where you'll type the URL to which the hotspot will be linked. The URL is typed into the Link field. Remember to type the entire URL, including the http:// prefix (if you are linking outside your own site). If you want your link to open inside a new browser window, use the Target pull-down to choose the _blank value.

There is no limit to the number of hotspots you can make, or the variety of shapes you can use to make them (hold down the tool in the Tools panel to see more choices), but keep things neat!

Exporting Images and HTML

Once you have a completed version of your linked image, save the file in PNG format with the File > Save As command. (Of course, you should be saving your work as you go along.) Save your PNG file into a personal folder on your hard drive that you will remember. Once you have saved your PNG, you can export a version of it for the Web.

With the PNG open, click the Preview button at the top of your document window. Open the Optimize panel (Window > Optimize) and choose one of the default settings at the top of the panel. Until we discuss optimization strategies later in this course, use GIF Adaptive 256 for line art images like the one you created here, and JPEG-Better Quality for photographic images.

The defaults are handy for quick exporting. Just check how the image looks in your Preview view before export.

Now that you've chosen a file type for your image, you can export. Choose File > Export to access the Export dialog. Inside the Export dialog, specify what you want to export and where you would like the files to be saved. In this case, you will be exporting a single image file (in the format you chose above) and an HTML document that will contain the hotspot link(s) and a reference to your image file. This way, you can publish your map to a Web site.

Below you can see how I exported my map and HTML document.

Your settings might be slightly different—it all depends on how your folder structure is set up on your hard drive and your Web server.

I chose to put my map image in a folder apart from the HTML file. To do this, I clicked the "Put Images in Subfolder" option and browsed for my Images directory. It is pretty much standard practice in Web development to keep images and HTML files in separate folders. It keeps things more organized as your site grows.

I also chose to modify the HTML extension from the Fireworks default—changing it from .htm to the more standard .html (both work just fine, though). This is accomplished by clicking the Options button inside the Export dialog.

After reviewing your Export options carefully, click Save to export the files. Now it is time to view the results of your hard work inside a Web browser.

Open a Web browser, and choose File > Open. Browse for the HTML document you just created inside Fireworks. Once the page is loaded in, take a look at the HTML code by choosing View > Source (or whatever command your particular browser has for viewing the HTML code of a currently loaded document). This HTML was composed by Fireworks, and you can do whatever you want with it.

This shows my map and HTML page as they appeared in Firefox. Note that the map image is referenced inside the HTML as src="images/a2map.gif." Click to enlarge.

If I wanted to publish this map to my Web site, I would use File Transfer Protocol (FTP) to move the HTML file and the map image to my Web host. I use the FTP program built into Dreamweaver to send my files to the Web, but there are lots of standalone FTP programs as well.

In this lesson, we covered the basics of dealing with images in the Fireworks environment. These basics are fundamental to your success in this course, and with Fireworks in general. As we progress through the course, we'll look at many more complex Fireworks techniques as well as delve more deeply into aesthetics of Web graphics.

   
 
Learn about the main source file formats and how to work with them in Fireworks.
Learn about the main optimized file formats and their best uses.
Learn how to apply a variety of correction and editing techniques to photographs.
Learn to select areas of photos and create composites.
Learn to create basic illustrations with the Pen tool.
Learn how to use type as a graphic feature.
 

Exercise
Demonstrate your understanding of Web graphics and create an interactive map with Fireworks drawing tools.

Discussion
Share your thoughts and opinions with other students at the Discussions board.